Home » Faculty



Dr. Sharona Ross, MD, Chair, Women in Surgery Career SymposiumSharona B. Ross, MD, FACS
Professor of Surgery, University of Central Florida, College of Medicine
Director, Minimally Invasive Surgery & Surgical Endoscopy
Director, Advanced GI & HPB Fellowship Program
Director & Founder, AdventHealth, Women In Surgery Initiative
Digestive Health Institute, AdventHealth Tampa
Tampa, Florida


Patricia L. Turner, MDSareh Parangi, MD
Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School
Director, Massachusetts General Hospital Endocrine Surgery Fellowship
Director, Massachusetts General Hospital Thyroid Cancer Research Laboratory
President, Association of Women Surgeons
Boston, MA

Alexander Rosemurgy, MD, FACS
Professor, College of Medicine University of Central Florida
Chair, Digestive Health Institute
AdventHealth Tampa
Tampa, FL

Barbara Bass, MD, FACS
Chair, Department of Surgery
John F. and Carolyn Bookout Distinguished Endowed Chair
Houston Methodist Hospital
Executive Director, MITIE: Methodist Institute for Technology, Innovation and Education
Professor of Surgery
Weill Cornell Medical College
Houston, TX

Janet E. Tuttle-Newhall, MD, MHA, FACS
Walter J. Pories Distinguished Professorship in Surgery
Chair, Department of Surgery
Transplant Surgeon
Greenville, NC

Chantel Hile, MD
Instructor, Harvard Medical School
Vascular Surgeon
Cambridge, MA

Chantal Reyna, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Department of Breast Surgical Oncology
University of Texas, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Christine Laronga, MD, FACS
Senior Member, Department of Women’s Oncology
Professor of Surgery
Moffitt Cancer Center
University of South Florida
Tampa, FL

Claire Saady, Esq.
Attorney at Law
Saady & Saxe, PA
Tampa, FL

Darla Hutton
Vice President – Marketing and Customer Analytics Corporate Accounts US
Intuitive Surgical
Tampa/St. Petersburg, FL

Dmitry Oleynikov, MD, FACS
Joseph and Richard Still Endowed Professor of Surgery
Chief Gastrointestinal, Minimally Invasive and Bariatric Surgery
Director Center for Advanced Surgical Technology
Director Comparative Effectiveness Research Program of Excellence
Division of General Surgery
Section of GI/MIS
Department of Surgery
Omaha, NE

Heather Logghe, MD
Surgical Research Fellow
Thomas Jefferson University
General Surgeon
Philadelphia, PA

Hilary Sanfey, MB, BCh, MHPE, FACS, FRCSEd (hon), FRCSI (hon)
Chair AWS Foundation
Professor of Surgery & Vice Chair for Education
SIU School of Medicine – Department of Surgery
Springfield, IL

Julie A. Freischlag, MD, FACS, FRCS
Professor of Surgery
CEO Wake Forest Baptist Health
Dean Wake Forest School of Medicine
Winston-Salem, NC

Kellie McFarlin, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Senior Staff Surgeon Henry Ford Hospital
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Detroit, MI

Krista Lynn Haines, MA, DO
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Acute and Critical Care Surgery, Duke University
General Surgeon
Durham, NC

Kandace Kichler, MD
Director of Bariatric Surgery – JFK Medical Center
Assistant Professor of Surgery – University of Miami/JFK Medical Center
Bariatric Surgeon
Lake Worth, FL

Laila Rashidi, MD, FACS
Associate Program Director
Assistant Professor
Adjunct Assistant Professor, UTMB
Colorectal Surgeon
Galveston, TX

Lana Y. Schumacher, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor, Temple University
Director of Thoracic Robotic surgery
Cardiothoracic Surgeon
Pittsburgh, PA

Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, MS, FACS
Professor, Surgery
Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Chair, Department of Surgery
University of Arizona Health Sciences
Margaret and Maynard Fenton Endowed Chair in Breast Cancer Research
University of Arizona College of Medicine
Tucson, AZ

Linda Barry, MD, MPH, FACS
Associate Professor of Surgery
Director of Multicultural and Community Affairs
University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Farmington, CT

Linda Richetelli-Pepe, MBA, CHC
Senior Director of Healthcare Economics, Policy and Reimbursement for Medtronic
Executive Director of Medtronic’s Women in Surgery
Adjunct professor/lecturer in business at both Quinnipiac University and Southern Connecticut State University

Lynn O’Connor, MD, FACS
Clinical Assistant Professor
Hofstra North Shore – LIJ School of Medicine
Colorectal Surgeon
New Hyde Park, NY

Marie Catherine Lee, MD, FACS
Associate Professor of Surgery and Oncologic Sciences
Associate Member of Comprehensive Breast Program
Moffitt Cancer Center
University of South Florida
Tampa, FL

Mecker G. Möller, MD, FACS
Associate Professor of Surgery
Associate Program Director Breast Surgical Oncology Fellowship
Division of Surgical Oncology
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL

Melissa LaPinska, MD, FACS
Associate Professor, Minimally Invasive Surgery
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN

Meredith C. Duke, MD, MBA, FACS
Assistant Professor, Minimally Invasive and Bariatric Surgery
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

Nova Szoka, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Division of Bariatric Surgery, Department of General Surgery
WVU School of Medicine
Morgantown, WV

Pamela Hodul, MD, FACS
Associate Member and Surgical Oncologist Department of Gastrointestinal Oncology
Medical Director of Nutrition at Moffitt Cancer Center
Associate Professor Division of Oncologic Sciences, University of South Florida
Tampa, FL

Patricia Numann, MD, FACS
Founder of Association of Women Surgeons
Endocrine Surgeon
Lloyd S. Rogers Professor of Surgery Emeritus
Upstate Medical University State University of New York Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
Syracuse, NY

Patricia Sylla, MD, FACS
Associate Professor of Surgery
Icahn School of Medicine
Mount Sinai Hospital
Department of Surgery
Division of Colorectal Surgery
Miami, FL

Robert A. London, MD, FASA
Member, Florida Board of Medicine
Attending Anesthesiologist, AdventHealth
Senior Partner, US Anesthesia Partners
Past Chairman, The Doctor’s Company Local Physicians Advisory Board
Orlando, FL

Scott Gallagher, MD, FACS
Lead Physician, Duke-Raleigh ACS Program
Duke University Health System
Associate Professor of Surgery, CUSOM
Raleigh-Durham, NC

Stacey Porter, MSSW
Vice President, People Operations
Founder of DreamWork Community, Culture & Talent Building Professionals
Palo Alto, CA

Stephanie Bonne, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor
Department of Surgery
Division of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
Newark, NJ

Susan Hoover, MD, FACS
Associate Member
Comprehensive Breast Program
Breast Surgical Oncologist
Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, FL

Thelma Hurd, MD, FACS
Associate Professor
Department of Surgery UT Health Science Center San Antonio
Adjunct Associate Professor Public Health
UT School of Public Health Houston – San Antonio Extension
San Antonio, TX

Vedra A. Augenstein, MD, FACS
Associate Professor of Surgery
Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, NC

Velma Scantlebury, MD, FACS
Associate Director, Kidney Transplant Program at Christiana Care Health System
Associate Chief Transplant Surgery
Spokesperson, Linkages to Life
Newark, DE

Faculty Disclosure
The Society of Women in Surgery adheres to the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) Standards regarding commercial support of continuing medical education. It is the policy of the Society of Women in Surgery that the faculty and planning committee disclose real or apparent conflicts of interest relating to the topics of this educational activity; that relevant conflict(s) of interest are resolved; and that speakers disclose any unlabeled/unapproved use of drug(s) or device(s) during their presentation. Detailed disclosure will be made in the course materials.